top of page

My first book review; 'The last Girl' by Jane Casey


There are a numbers of factors that will make me choose a book to read, I'm sure many of you will agree with one or two of my reasons. The obvious one is having read the author's work before and how good or enjoyable it was; I believe in reading at least two pieces of work by the same author, if I don't like either then they haven't got a fan I'm afraid. The book cover is as important as the title of the book, if I like both I'll get the book. The synopsis is just as important, if I don't like the sound of the story then I don't pick it up. To some extent location is also important, just not as much. So on to my first review which is a book by Jane Casey, The last Girl, which caught my eye as I needed a holiday read.

An Irish author living in South London, the story is set in England's capital city. Right from the start it had me guessing after a gruesome double murder. It's partly written in the first person and done so superbly, the characters are believable and some 'gallows humour' never goes amiss.

I'm not one for the obvious killer or killers and this book is far from obvious. Just when you think you have the culprit or culprits something changes which makes you think again. On a personal note I'm not a fan of long chapters but as I was on holiday it didn't matter.

To save on carrying luggage (and the weight allowance) the holiday complex has a place where you can leave books for other holiday makers to enjoy, it's amongst good company.

I'm pleased to say ''The last Girl,' scores a well deserved five 🌟 review.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page