top of page

Please leave Paul Gascoigne alone

I love the world of social media normally, it keeps you up to date with everything going on in the world but like most things in life it has a down side.

I was appalled and disgusted at the pictures of Paul Gascoigne; not at the man himself, but the rag that put the pictures up.

Did they give a reason why the former England international has hit an all time low? No, because that won't sell newspapers.

Gazza recently lost his nephew and that would hit any uncle hard, the young man was only twenty two years old.

(http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/north-east-news/paul-gascoignes-bullied-nephew-was-11308995)

“For years I feared I’d get a knock on the door about Paul, but never. In my deepest, darkest nightmares did I think I’d get a call to tell me I’d lost my son,” Anna-Maria said.

“Jay, his sister Harley, his step-dad Michael and I have begged for years for Jay to get the correct help that he needed but he was let down, time and time again by the services.

“He was passed around like a number and not at all treated like a young man in desperate need.

“He didn’t deserve to die. He needed help.”

Anna-Maria also spoke out for the first time since her loss to hit out at “cruel and untruthful” reports that her son was a “druggie”.

“I’ve been so torn, as while some people might condemn me for deciding to speak out so soon, I can’t let Jay go to his grave labelled a druggie,” she said. “Everybody that met our Jay knew he was the most polite, well-mannered, talented, beautiful, yet tortured soul.

An alcoholic doesn't need an excuse to have a drink but when something like this happens it's the first place they turn, to drink is to forget.

My best friend passed away because of this deadly disease back in the year two thousand and for a long time I blamed him for leaving me, as far as I was concerned he was selfish, little did I know.

It's a natural assumption that because Gazza is famous and has money he can afford to drink ; it's nothing to do with money, it's an addiction.

If you add to that his mental problems then it's only natural he'll be in a very dark place and the last thing he, his family and his friends need are pictures splashed everywhere.

Negative press has an effect on him and really has to stop, those pictures really won't help him.

We have to remember this is the same rag that reported on the Hillsborough disaster and we all know the truth about that now.

What the former Newcastle and Tottenham man needs now is to be left alone by the press and hopefully be given the help he needs.

Leaving the booze alone and facing your demons is hard enough for any human being, then add the fame and it's another hurdle to get over.

I wish Gazza all the luck in the world because he's going to need it, as the AA saying goes, 'One day at a time,'


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page